Searching Insurance Companies...
No Obligation At All
Compare & Save Now
Save Over $450 Per Year !!
What Could U Do w/the Xtra $$
Type In Your Zip Code
& Compare Rates Today

Minimum State Insurance Requirements » Colorado

25 / 50 / 15

Personal injury insurance for the driver: $25,000

(maximum benefit paid per claim after the policyholder pays the deductible)

Personal injury coverage for all people involved in an accident: $50,000

Property damage coverage per claim: $15,000



Colorado Car Insurance Information

There is some very specific Colorado car insurance information that outlines coverage requirements in the Centennial State. All vehicle operators must carry a certain level of auto insurance in order to drive legally.

Colorado Car Insurance Information

Colorado state law requires drivers to carry liability insurance. This coverage must be purchased from an insurance company or agency licensed to do business in Colorado. Liability insurance provides coverage in the event of a traffic accident resulting in personal injury or property damage. All drivers are responsible for the damage they cause when operating a motor vehicle.

Colorado is a wonderful mix of majestic scenery, rural communities and urban development. The weather can be very unpredictable, with hailstorms in the summer and blizzard conditions in winter. Driving can be adventurous when severe weather hits and accidents involving injuries or vehicle damage are common. It is important to carry the required insurance when driving in Colorado. Local law enforcement agencies and state police do not hesitate to cite individuals failing to comply with insurance requirements.

Car Insurance Minimum Requirements

All Colorado residents operating a motor vehicle must carry a liability insurance policy in amounts equaling or exceeding the state minimum of 25/50/15. These figures represent thousands of dollars in coverage for a single injury to a non-fault individual, total injury costs per accident and property damage per accident. The insurance does not cover damage to vehicles belonging to the insured. Personal injury protection is not required in Colorado but most insurance experts recommend at least $5,000 in PIP. Colorado’s liability minimum coverage is comparable to most other states, but many drivers take out a policy that covers the insured for up to $100,000 in bodily injury protection.

Car Insurance Companies

Any one of the large companies selling auto insurance will be licensed to do business in Colorado. These companies are represented by independent agents that can assist vehicle owners with questions about Colorado car insurance information. Some agencies specialize in insuring commercial fleet vehicles, snowmobiles, personal watercraft and motorcycles in addition to passenger cars.

Agents determine insurance rates by taking basic information from the customer and comparing it against accident trends in the state of Colorado. The final quote will be based on the driving history of the individual and the type of car being insured. Colorado insurance agents will nearly always offer uninsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection as part of the quote, but customers can decline this coverage if they desire.

Free Car Insurance Quotes For Colorado

Agents operating online can give quotes for liability insurance, collision/comprehensive coverage and other optional protection. All they need is basic information about the vehicle and the location where the owner lives. For a free quote on auto insurance in Colorado simply visit.

Car Insurance Rates

Auto insurance prices in Colorado are about average when compared to other states in the country. A safe driver with no accidents or moving violations can expect a liability and collision insurance policy to cost about $102 per month. The amount of down payment and the cost of extras like PIP and uninsured motorist protection will vary slightly from one provider to another. Discounts for student drivers are also available if the teen has completed an approved defensive driving course.