Searching Insurance Companies...
No Obligation At All
Compare & Save Now
Save Over $450 Per Year !!
What Could U Do w/the Xtra $$
Type In Your Zip Code
& Compare Rates Today

Minimum State Insurance Requirements » Georgia

25 / 50 / 25

Personal injury insurance for the driver: $25,000

(maximum benefit paid per claim after the policyholder pays the deductible)

Personal injury coverage for all people involved in an accident: $50,000

Property damage coverage per claim: $25,000



Georgia Car Insurance Information

Becoming familiar with the Georgia car insurance information regarding mandatory coverage amounts will make for easy understanding of policies offered in the Peach State. Georgia has strict rules about auto insurance as well as heavy penalties for not carrying insurance as required by law.

Georgia Car Insurance Information

Georgia residents are required to carry liability insurance when operating a motor vehicle. Whoever causes a road accident is responsible for all costs for the repair of cars as well as the medical costs involved when innocent persons suffer an injury. It is important to know that nearly 17 percent of all drivers in Georgia are not covered by a liability policy, meaning they are breaking the law. This underscores the need for uninsured motorist protection. Both UM protection and personal injury protection are optional coverage plans but are well worth the cost. Agencies licensed to sell insurance will always recommend these two types of protection when offering a free quote for liability and collision insurance.

Georgia is a rather populous state. About nine million people live and work here, most of them commuting back and forth regularly on the interstate highway system. Atlanta is the most populous metropolitan area and also records the highest number of traffic accidents each year. Congested roadways and unpredictable weather, especially in the winter, combined with ongoing highway construction projects make for hazardous driving. Carrying a full insurance package on the vehicle is of vital importance.

Car Insurance Minimum Requirements

In Georgia the law requires each vehicle operator to be covered by a liability policy meeting the state minimum of 25/50/25. This means injury protection of at least $25,000 for each injured party deemed not at fault, $50,000 for all injuries suffered in a single accident and $25,000 to cover damage to vehicles or other personal property belonging to those not at fault. Most insurance agencies recommend at least double this amount. The state minimum protection law in Georgia is the same as in many other states, but a good percentage of drivers carry liability insurance in the amount of 100/300/50.

Car Insurance Companies

Insurance companies that offer policies nationwide are licensed to do business in Georgia. Most of these providers use independent agents who take the information from customers and offer an initial quote. The final package offered may include only liability insurance but can also be built with collision insurance and comprehensive coverage. The rates and deductible amounts are variable depending on the vehicles being insured and the risk category in which the policyholder is placed.

Free Car Insurance Quotes For Georgia

Georgia car insurance information includes statistics on when and where accidents occur. This is the reason agents want to know what the vehicle is used for, the make and model as well as safety features installed, where the insured lives and how many miles the car is driven per week. Using probability models the agent comes up with a quote for all types of coverage the customer desires. Get an online quote now.

Car Insurance Rates

In Georgia the average price for liability insurance, collision/comprehensive protection and personal injury protection averages $1,750 per year per vehicle. This includes all drivers that are considered high risk. Georgia is one of the most expensive states in the nation when it comes to auto insurance. Safe drivers and those with no moving violations enjoy lower rates than those who have had multiple traffic infractions, a suspended license or have a DUI on their record.