Searching Insurance Companies...
No Obligation At All
Compare & Save Now
Save Over $450 Per Year !!
What Could U Do w/the Xtra $$
Type In Your Zip Code
& Compare Rates Today

Minimum State Insurance Requirements » Louisiana

15 / 30 / 25

Personal injury insurance for the driver: $15,000

(maximum benefit paid per claim after the policyholder pays the deductible)

Personal injury coverage for all people involved in an accident: $30,000

Property damage coverage per claim: $25,000



Louisiana Car Insurance Information

Before purchasing auto insurance in Louisiana, consumers should take the time to compare rates from different providers. Understanding the Louisiana car insurance information regarding coverage requirements and policy types helps when shopping for the right policy at the right price.

Louisiana Car Insurance Information

Drivers in Louisiana are confronted with a number of road hazards. The low altitude and the threat of storms from the Gulf of Mexico can mean inundated roadways. Traffic is heavy in New Orleans and Baton Rouge, and some of the highways are currently undergoing major repair work. Accidents are inevitable, but carrying the proper insurance means peace of mind when getting behind the wheel. Louisiana state law requires all vehicle operators to carry liability insurance. The penalty for driving without proper coverage is severe and can mean much higher prices on subsequent policies.

Car Insurance Minimum Requirements

Louisiana law requires all vehicle owners to carry liability insurance in amounts equal to or exceeding 15/30/25. This means protection in the amount of at least $15,000 to cover the costs of injuries suffered by an innocent person. Twice this amount must be purchased to cover the cost of all injuries sustained by non-fault parties, and $25,000 in coverage must be carried to pay for property or vehicle damage caused by the insured. Louisiana does not require personal injury protection or uninsured motorist coverage, but these types of protection are strongly advised.

Car Insurance Companies

Louisiana requires all insurance providers to be licensed in order to do business in the state. Major insurance companies licensed in Louisiana have agency locations across the state. A number of regional and local insurance companies also conduct business with residents of Louisiana. Many of these smaller firms specialize in safe drivers, those with other property to be insured such as boats or personal watercraft, and offer a combination of auto insurance and homeowner’s coverage at a discounted price. Online shoppers will often see a number of these local insurance firms offering quotes only to residents of Louisiana.

Free Car Insurance Quotes For Louisiana

Insurance shoppers can visit an online site and input some very general information in order to obtain rapid quotes for automobile coverage. The results will usually contain the minimum amount of liability coverage stated above, but customers have the opportunity to request a higher level of protection in order to see how this affects the monthly premiums. Collision insurance deductible amounts can also be changed in order to save money. For a free online quote on auto insurance, customers can go directly.

Car Insurance Rates

These vary considerably depending on the type of vehicle being insured, the age and driving record of the policyholder, and the number of coverage types added to the policy. On average, Louisiana residents pay about $1,780 per year to insure a new vehicle. This ranks 10th in the nation in terms of annual cost, but shoppers can save money by adding a second vehicle, insuring multiple drivers, combining auto insurance with homeowner’s or rental insurance, or by purchasing a car with advanced safety technology built in. The Louisiana car insurance information given here is general in nature, and customers are encouraged to speak with an agent regarding ideas on how to save money on premiums.