Searching Insurance Companies...
No Obligation At All
Compare & Save Now
Save Over $450 Per Year !!
What Could U Do w/the Xtra $$
Type In Your Zip Code
& Compare Rates Today

Minimum State Insurance Requirements » Florida

10 / 20 / 10

Personal injury insurance for the driver: $10,000

(maximum benefit paid per claim after the policyholder pays the deductible)

Personal injury coverage for all people involved in an accident: $20,000

Property damage coverage per claim: $10,000



Florida Car Insurance Information

The following Florida car insurance information details the state laws concerning auto liability and personal injury protection. All drivers in the Sunshine State are required to show proof of certain insurance protection if questioned by a police authority.

Florida Car Insurance Information

Florida ranks near the top of the list in terms of uninsured drivers. It is estimated that nearly one in every four drivers are not carrying proper auto insurance. This makes it easy to see why uninsured motorist protection is so important. Although not mandatory in Florida, UM protection is advised because without it a vehicle operator has no way to pay for car damage or personal injury costs stemming from an accident caused by someone not protected by the required insurance.

Florida is the fourth most populous state in the country. It highways are full of vacationers and tourists on their way to see Walt Disney World, Cape Canaveral, the Everglades or the beaches of Miami. Traffic accidents are common and the injuries and damage to vehicles resulting from these collisions can be quite costly. For this reason the state government has a specific set of insurance coverage requirements. Instead of the usual liability insurance that is required in most other states, Florida insurance laws make it mandatory to carry both personal injury protection and property damage protection. Known as PIP/PDP, this insurance is available from licensed agents and all major insurance providers.

Car Insurance Minimum Requirements

Florida law requires all drivers living in the state and owning a vehicle to purchase a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection. This means that medical costs are covered regardless of who causes an accident. Drivers must have at least $20,000 in PIP to cover the costs of injuries to all individuals per accident and another $10,000 for the costs of vehicle and personal property damage. A standard liability policy is not required in Florida but most insurance specialists recommend at least $100,000 of coverage.

Car Insurance Companies

Those needing Florida car insurance information regarding prices for PIP and PDP as well as uninsured motorist protection and collision insurance for passenger cars can contact a licensed agent directly or through an online comparison service. The large population of Florida and the extremely heavy traffic in the state has resulted in a multitude of licensed auto insurance agents operating from Jacksonville in the north to Key West in the south. These auto experts will build a policy with the minimum required insurance but will also offer free quotes on combined policies that include additional injury and property damage protection, collision and comprehensive insurance for vehicles, uninsured motorist protection and also policies written for boats, motorcycles and motorhomes.

Free Car Insurance Quotes For Florida

Whether needing a simple personal injury protection and property damage insurance package or a full protection plan for a financed vehicle, Florida insurance agents are ready to provide instant quotes. The final price of any policy will be determined by the driving history of the individual and the type and number of vehicles being insured. For a free online quote go.

Car Insurance Rates

Florida ranks near the top in terms of high insurance rates for automobiles. This is primarily due to the huge number of uninsured drivers as well as the statistics on vehicle incidents on Florida highways. The average insurance package containing full PIP/PDP, collision and comprehensive insurance plus uninsured motorist protection will cost roughly $2,000 per year, much higher than the national average. Safe drivers with no accidents or moving violations are charged a substantially lower rate. Discounts are available when two or more vehicles are insured, and those who establish a long-term relationship with an agent will also receive lower monthly premiums on full auto insurance protection plans.